Council & Staff

The governing body of Tangirnaq Native Village (a.k.a. Woody Island) is the Woody Island Tribal Council (WITC). The WITC is comprised of seven members elected by the membership. The WITC meets regularly to exercise the functions of self-governance, to manage and protect cultural resources, lands, to collaborate with stakeholders, and to bring to the forefront the long history of the Tangirnarmuit people. The WITC seats are three year terms, staggered elections, with officers of President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer.

Gwen Sargent,

Vice President / Executive Director

Chrislyn Hoen,

Secretary / Treasurer

Germaine Salmine,

Council Member

Samantha Heglin,

Council Member


Lillie Smith

Program Support Specialist ​​